Asher and the mint candy

mint candyLast night I was stacking the plates in the cupboard after unloading the dishwasher. Suddenly, one of the smaller plates shattered in the middle of the stack.

Upon closer investigation, I found that the plate was one that had endured one of Asher’s experiments a few years ago.

One morning I awoke to the smell of something burning. I rushed to the kitchen to find Asher with a small plate holding a pile of black ash. Groggy and confused I asked him what it was.

“I don’t want to say,” he replied and ran into the next room.

I could tell he was upset, so I backed off from scolding him. I asked why he was so upset. The poor little guy explained that he was trying to cook a mint in the microwave. He was very upset that it didn’t turn out the way he had envisioned it.

“How long did you cook it?”

“I pushed the ‘4’ button because I’m 4.”

So, in case you’re wondering how long it takes to turn a mint into a pile of ash (and probably catch fire), four minutes will work nicely.

After two years, the charred mark on the plate had almost completely worn off before the plate spontaneously burst into a hundred pieces. The stress must’ve been too much for it. I can’t blame it, though. Asher is glad to see it go. Ever since that fateful day, we made sure to give the same plate to Asher whenever we got out the small plates…just as a reminder that he shouldn’t play with the microwave.

4 Responses

  1. I can’t believe you gave him that plate every time! That seems like a very “Anderson” thing to do… What would he say each time he would get “the plate”?

  2. I wanna know the same thing as Laura. He’s hilarious, I’m still laughing about him shaking his fist at Amber for no reason at all when we were over at your house!

  3. The first time after the incident he lowered his eyebrows and said, “Hey! I don’t want that burned plate.” He got quiet when I asked him why anyone else should have to have it.

  4. Now you have to tell everyone about how Asher tried to burn our house down by lighting a match. When he was three.

Leave a Reply

