Asher and the iPod Nano

After leaving Applebees Asher tells me, “My meal came with a toy.”

Applebees isn’t the fanciest place around, but they don’t reduce themselves to  fast-food trickery by bribing children with worthless plastic toys. “Oh, really? What is it?”

“An iPod Nano,” he responds.

“Wow, that sounds like a pretty good deal. I don’t know of many kindergarteners with an iPod.”

“Yep. It is right here in my pocket,” he tells me…tapping his front pocket on his pants.

“Let me see that…” I can tell there is something in his pocket, so I try to retrieve the item.

“I’ll show you!”

Sure enough, Asher produces a silver iPod Nano from his pocket. He connects the earbuds to his ears and begins selecting his playlist.

“Wait a minute. Where did you get that?”

With a crooked grin and one eyebrow raised he tries to convince me, “It was part of my meal at Applebees.”

“I already know that is your mom’s iPod.”

Asher giggles.

It turns out, he had it in his pocket all day. I’m not a big fan of the thing since Apple’s latest firmware chokes when used with Linux, but it must be pretty indestructible if it can survive a day in Asher’s pants.

Leave a Reply

