Fedora 7 – First Impression

Fedora 7 was officially released last week. I had a chance to install it on my main desktop machine at home over the weekend. I haven’t had a chance to dig in a lot, but so far it seems a lot like the last version.

The main difference I’ve seen so far is the presence of a lot of hot air balloons throughout the installer, rhgb, the default wallpaper, etc. I’m not sure why those are there. They’re kind of annoying and remind me of old Corel products.

The big plus this time around was the Xorg setup. The GUI tool actually worked in setting up dual displays on my ATI Radeon 9600. I’ve always been able to get this to work with previous versions, but it has always required lots of trial and error and manually editing the xorg.conf file. I probably will still tweak the file, but it was nice to have it work by itself.

Unfortunately, the same DVD which worked nicely on my main PC did not work at all on a spare IBM desktop of mine. It came up with a scrambled bootloader prompt the first time. After that, I couldn’t get it to do anything. I was hoping to make this my main machine since it is the newest, bestest machine in the house. I think it might not like the installed Matrox card. I’ll have to try it without that card to see if it behaves better.

Overall, I like Fedora 7. I don’t know if I’ve found anything worth upgrading my other machines yet, but still, it is tons better than Vista.

Leave a Reply

